Board Members

Summit Academy and Summit Academy High School Board of Trustees

Board email:  [email protected]
Jon Eborn - Board Chair 
Jon Eborn is a lifelong Utah resident and has been active at Summit Academy as a parent and volunteer for over 10 years.  He currently has one child in 5th grade at the Draper Campus.  Jon is a nationally recognized marketing and compliance consultant, the founder of Digital Talent Team located in Draper, Utah as well as two start-ups including  He is happily married with six children, two dogs, and five chickens.  When Jon is not at work or in School Board meetings you will find him coaching his kid's sports teams, on the golf course, in the mountains, or living his dream of writing music recorded by various country music artists in Nashville.  Jon has served on the Summit Board of Trustees since 2020.
Robyn Derbidge - Board Vice Chair
Robyn Derbidge is a career public school teacher with over 20 years in the classroom and is currently working in a neighboring district teaching 4th grade. She has taught 1st, 4th, 5th, and 6th grades, as well as mentoring many new teachers and taking on leadership roles in her various schools. She is a graduate of Utah State University, and has a master’s degree in Elementary Administration. She is married to Mike Derbidge, and they have a son who attends Summit Academy High School. In their free time, the Derbidge family can be found cheering for their son while he’s on the football or baseball field. She is committed to continuing her focus on doing what’s best for kids in and out of the classroom and excited to further this passion by participating in the Summit Academy family of schools. She has been a board member since 2022.


Marcia Whitman - Secretary 

Marcia Whitman graduated from University of Utah with a BS in Business Management and is currently working as a Customer Success Manager for a Fintech AR/AP company. She is a wife and a mother to three children, two who are currently attending Summit Academy High School. Her family has been part of charter schools for many years and wants to help ensure that our schools continue to be responsive to the values, beliefs, and priorities of our community. In her spare time she can be found cheering on her boys at their various Summit sports activities, helping her elderly parents who recently moved in with the family, or exploring her newly found hobbies of raising chickens and knitting. She has been a board member since 2022.

Joel Woodruff - Board Treasurer

Joel Woodruff recently returned to Utah after an exciting 10 years abroad serving in the United States Military as a Medical Evacuation Pilot and Hospital Administrator. He currently works as an Entrepreneur and Executive Assistant in the Financial Technology Sector and recently graduated with a Master's Degree in Business Administration. He and his amazing wife have 6 children, 2 rabbits, 40 chickens, and about 10,000 bees. Joel firmly believes that our Nation's greatest treasures are the youth of our communities who truly are the Hope of America and pathway to an enduring future full of Freedom, Liberty, and the Pursuit of all worthwhile things. 


Chelsea Welch - Board Member 
Chelsea Welch is a researcher with experience in laboratory, clinical, and regulatory settings.  Her work has focused on Oncology, Pediatrics, and Neurodegenerative Diseases.  She is the mother of three children, who are currently attending Summit Academy.  She has been involved with the school for many years and strongly believes in the mission of Summit Academy.  Ms. Welch has been on the Board of Trustees since 2018.
Bob Zentner - Board Member 


Bob Zentner is a retired educator of 41 years. He graduated from the University of Montana with a BA in Secondary Education and earned his M.A. in Public School Administration from Brigham Young University. He has taught, coached, been a head coach at the high school level, been an assistant principal, an athletic director, and principal. He spent 8.5 years as the Principal at Summit Academy at the Draper Campus. His interests are fishing, attending athletic events, traveling, shooting hoops, and bowling. He started on the Board in 2022.